1st Semester as an MPA: Isabella Yang

  • What do you enjoy most about being an MPA?

First of all, the Multicultural Center is a great place to be at. Everyone likes to be familiar with students, and the full time staff makes every effort to listen and advise students with their career goals.  What I enjoy the most about being an MPA is the environment in which I work in. My coworkers are supportive, and I am allowed to be creative with my tasks. My boss is also inspiring, and motivates me to pursue my goals.

  • How do you feel working as an MPA has helped you personally and professionally? (What do you aspire to do in the future?)

Being an MPA has allowed me to learn how to work with others and lead teams on my own. It has helped me professionally by motivating me to create new things and run with my own ideas.

  • What has been your most memorable experience so far in the MC?

My most memorable experience has been the Native American Heritage celebration. I did not feel prepared for this event and I felt a little lost with how to come up with ideas. Fortunately, Mr. Bruce was there every step of the way to help me create my first event. I was very happy with the results. A lot of students stopped by and the feedback was good.

  • Why would you recommend someone else to apply for this position?

I would recommend to apply for this job to experience a different kind of working environment, where your co-workers are your family and where the full time staff cares about you and your goals.

  • What have you learned working as an MPA?

I learned that I should relax when I cannot control certain things, such as weather, caterers, etc. I have grown professionally as well as personally, by learning that I have a passion for things other than my major. 

sexay

 

Isabella Yang is a junior majoring in Healthcare Management with a minor in Accounting. She is also the vice president of the Chinese Students Association and is a brother of AKPsi. She is from Monterrey, Nuevo León and is fluent in both Chinese and Spanish.  

Leave a Reply

